Obscura | Akroasis [2016]

Five years since the release of the universally-acclaimed Omnivium, Germany’s progressive metal masters OBSCURA are poised to return with their strongest and most dynamic release to date. The aptly-named Akroasis (Greek for “hearing” or “listening“) draws on all the various elements of OBSCURA‘s signature sound and combines those qualities into a mind-blowing and cohesive whole.

Produced by the band and V. Santura (Triptykon, Pestilence), Akroasis is eight songs diverse enough to serve as a near-comprehensive introduction to all of extreme metal. Packed to the gills with virtuosic musicianship, compelling themes, and airtight songwriting, OBSCURA will undoubtedly breathe new life into death metal, progressive metal and beyond.

Akroasis CD

1. Sermon of the Seven Suns
2. The Monist
3. Akroasis
4. Ten Sepiroth
5. Ode to the Sun
6. Fractal Dimension
7. Perpetual Infinity
8. Weltseele
9. On the Origin of Primal Expression (bonus track)


Worldwide Release: 5th of February 2016

“With „Akroasis“, Obscura produced their grand opus featuring eight songs of fluent arrangements, odd time rhythm patterns and the most high end production in the history of this band. Without question “Akroasis” became the heaviest complex record we made up to this day. We cannot wait to perform live again and bring this challenging music on stage around the globe.”
Steffen Kummerer


Obscura Band Akroasis

Obscura is:
Steffen Kummerer | Vocals & Guitars
Rafael Trujillo | Guitars
Linus Klausenitzer | Bass
Sebastian Lanser | Drums