OBSCURA completes new line-up with rejoining guitarist CHRISTIAN MÜNZNER

After a six-year break, legendary German guitarist Christian Münzner (ETERNITY’S END, PARADOX, ALKALOID, ex-NECROPHAGIST, ex-SPAWN OF POSSESSION) has rejoined the German progressive death metallers OBSCURA as a permanent member. Münzner, known for his virtuoso guitar playing in extreme metal, joined OBSCURA in 2008 and recorded the band’s critically acclaimed full-length albums “Cosmogenesis” (2009) and “Omnivium” (2011), both released via Relapse Records. He has toured the world, collaborated internationally with several groups as session player and is also working as guitar teacher.

Christian says, “I’m very excited to be back in the band. After my departure in 2014 I stayed very active on the scene in various formats, but I needed some time off from the busy touring schedule to take the time and learn to manage my hand issues, regroup my thoughts about my musical future and focus on some other matters that were going on in my life at that time.

I’m happy to say I’m back with a vengeance and I feel I have taken my playing to a new level in recent years, and I can’t wait to share with all the Obscura fans what we are working on at the moment. During my time away from the band we remained in touch, and in recent years I felt my interest in extreme music and the drive to write and play in that style resurfacing, it feels like everything came together at the perfect moment. I think we are having a very strong line-up and I am excited about the future of OBSCURA“.

Among his solo releases “Timewarp” (2011), “Beyond the Wall of Sleep” (2014) and “Path of the Hero” (2020), he also appeared on NECROPHAGIST‘s critically acclaimed second studio album, “Epitaph” (2004), SPAWN OF POSSESSION‘s third studio album, “Incurso” (2012), PARADOX‘s sixth studio album “Tales Of The Weird” (2012), ALKALOID‘s first and second studio albums, “The Malkuth Grimoire” (2015), “Liquid Anatomy” (2018), ETERNITY’S END‘s first and second albums, “The Fire Within” (2016) and “Unyielding” (2018).

As revealed last month, Dutch fretless bass player Jeroen Paul Thesseling rejoined OBSCURA after a nine-year break. Earlier this month the group also announced Austrian drummer David Diepold as their new member. Now, with the comeback of former guitarist Christian Münzner, 75% of the classic Cosmogenesis (2009) and Omnivium (2011) line-up is reunited.

Steffen Kummerer – guitars, vocals
Christian Münzner – guitars
Jeroen Paul Thesseling – bass
David Diepold – drums

Founded in 2002, OBSCURA established its reputation by releasing five studio albums which have been highly acclaimed by fans and press alike, accompanied by playing support tours as well as their own headline shows all around the globe.

OBSCURA | “Universe Momentum” Guitar Playthrough Video

Check out the brand-new guitar play-through for “Universe Momentum” by Steffen Kummerer!

Enjoy! Let us know your comments on the play-through and the gear from Engl Amps and ESP Guitars!
Photo Credit: Chris Rogl

OBSCURA | Illegimitation Digital Release

The first and only OBSCURA demo is now available on all major streaming platforms!

Steffen Kummerer comments:

Illegimitation shows the band in it’s juvenile and purest form; the first and only demo was recorded in 2003 with engineer V. Santura who shall become an international respected producer in later years. Those four songs represent the earliest steps with the original lineup consisting Martin Ketzer on Vocals & Bass, Armin Seitz on Guitar and Jonas Baumgartl on Drums and Cello. The material ranges between death, black and thrash metal with a pinch of our experimental side we embossed on later releases.

In late 2006, right after finishing our first European tour supporting Obscura’s debut “Retribution“, we booked a studio session to record a row of covers and compositions for our second album “Cosmogenesis” with the lineup Markus Lempsch on Guitar, Jonas Fischer on Bass and Jonas Baumgartl on Drums.

To spice up the compilation “Illegimitation“, we went back to Woodshed Studios with V. Santura in 2011 and recorded three covers of bands that had their impact on the early years of Obscura; Death, Cynic and Atheist. Recording those three songs has been the debut for Linus Klausenitzer on fretless bass, and turned into the last session with Christian Münzner and Hannes Grossmann.

Since the vinyl edition was sold out years ago, and CDs are quite obsolete for most fans these days, the entire compilation will be available in digital form on all common platforms. Enjoy and see you on the road.!

Check this link to choose your favourite provider now: